Walford village is situated just south of Ross-on-Wye. St Michael and All Angels is a beautiful, picturesque village church with a very active community of worshippers and a wide variety of styles of worship take place there on a regular basis. You can find details of regular services in our churches here. We welcome everyone to join us from near or far.
Visiting Walford Church
Walford Church is open during daylight hours and visitors are most welcome. For satnav purposes the postcode is HR9 5QP. There is ample free parking in the car park in front of the church, and an overflow for popular services in the field next door to the church.
Walford Groups and Activities
You’ll find details of all Benefice groups and activities in the Groups menu group above. Activities and groups specific to Walford will be found here.
The oldest part of the building is the nave, it dates from around 1100, which makes it one of the earliest churches in the county of Herefordshire . The entrance was by the south door without a porch. From about 1230 – 1240 the north aisle was added, together with the arcades of four pillars and aches. Soon afterwards the aisle was continued from the north Chapel behind and including the present organ chamber. Next to be added were the north porch, standing at an odd angle to the main body of the church, and tower, which stood alone and at first was topped by a spire.
By 1430 the church was in a dilapidated condition and general repairs were undertaken; the east wall of the chancel was completely rebuilt. A passage was added connecting the tower to the main building through the north chapel. That concluded the work of the building as it now stands except for the extensive restoration of 1887 when a gallery, added in 1754 at the west end of the nave, was removed and the walls stripped of the remains of coloured plaster. In 1954 the church was completely re-roofed.
A more detailed history of Walford Church is here: a-brief-history-of-walford-church
The Parochial Church Council of Walford meets five times per year in January, April (Annual Meeting), June, September and November. The PCC is made up of clergy and local volunteer parishioners and we endeavour to address matters that will help to keep our church vibrant and relevant.